Calculus of Variations and Geometric Measure Theory
home | mail | papers | authors | news | seminars | events | open positions | login

Transport phenomena in collective dynamics: from micro to social hydrodynamics: A joint FIM-KiNet conference

created by crippa on 13 Sep 2016
modified on 28 Apr 2017

1 nov 2016 - 4 nov 2016   [open in google calendar]

KI-Net Workshop at FIM, ETH-Zurich


In recent years there have been rapid developments in mathematical description of collective dynamics, driven by nonlinear transport equations with local and non-local means. This includes multi-scale phenomena ranging from agent-based through kinetic and hydrodynamics descriptions of models related to the emergence of coherent structures in crowd and traffic dynamics, flocking, swarming, ... The modeling, analysis and efficient computation of these phenomena are the main focus of this conference.


This aim of this conference is to bring together researchers working on different aspects of transport across multiple scales and present state of art theoretical and numerical results and their interplay with current applications.


Invited participants can RSVP and provide the additional requested information about their stay, including the title and abstract of proposed talks, on the conference webpage.

Applications for participation can be made through the Online Application available on the conference webpage. Due to space limitations, these requests are subject to approval by the organizers. For full consideration, applications to participate must be submitted by Sep 30, 2016.


Yann Brenier, École Polytechnique

José Carrillo, Imperial College London

Alina Chertock, North Carolina State University

Maria Colombo, Universität Zürich

Rinaldo Colombo, Università degli Studi di Brescia

Iain Couzin, Max-Planck-Institut für Ornithologie, Universität Konstanz

Pierre Degond, Imperial College London

Camillo De Lellis, Universität Zürich

Guido De Philippis, SISSA

Qiang Du, Columbia University

Alessio Figalli, ETH Zürich

Francis Filbet, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse III

François Golse, École Polytechnique

Nir Gov, Weizmann Institute

Ilya Karlin, ETH Zürich

Govind Menon, Brown University

Sara Merino-Aceituno, Imperial College London

Sebastien Motsch, Arizona State University

Lorenzo Pareschi, Università degli Studi di Ferrara

Laure Saint-Raymond, Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Giuseppe Toscani, Università di Pavia

Alexis Vasseur, The University of Texas at Austin

Yao Yao, Georgia Institute of Technology

Organizers: Gianluca Crippa, Siddhartha Mishra, Eitan Tadmor.

Credits | Cookie policy | HTML 5 | CSS 2.1